BBC announces their nominees for 2020 women footballer of the year award

Football News  Published on February 13, 2020

Law Blessing

BBC has announced it's five nominees for their 2020 Women's Footballer of the Year award via their official website.

The five nominees for the award are as follows:

Lucy Bronze - England (Winner 2018)

Julie Ertz - United States

Sam Kerr - Australia 

Vivianne Miedema - Netherlands

Megan Rapinoe - United States

The award was inaugurated back in 2015 and it's usually decided by a panel of journalists, players, coaches, and administrators. Nigeria's Asisat Oshoala won the inaugural award in 2015. 

Lyon and Norway forward Ada Hegerberg is the current holder of the award after being named the winner in 2019

This will be the fifth-annual BBC Women's Footballer of the Year award.